Wang Kim and Nishikawa awarded Pontecorvo Prize



The 2017 Bruno Pontecorvo Prize, awarded by the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR) in Dubna, Russia, has been awarded to Yifang Wang of the Institute of High Energy Physics in Beijing, Soo-Bong Kim of Seoul National University in Korea and Koichiro Nishikawa of the KEK laboratory in Japan. The prize recognises the trio's outstanding contributions to the study of neutrino-oscillation phenomena and in particular to the measurement of the θ_{13} mixing angle in the Daya Bay, RENO and T2K experiments. The Pontecorvo Prize was established in 1995 to commemorate Bruno Pontecorvo, once assistant of Enrico Fermi and often called the father of neutrino physics.