N N Bogoliubov prize goes to Paton and Shirkov



N N Bogoliubov prize

The N N Bogoliubov Prize of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR) for the years 2006-2008 is to be awarded to Boris Yevgenievich Paton, president of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, and Dmitri Vasilievich Shirkov, academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences and honorary director of JINR's Bogoliubov Laboratory of Theoretical Physics.

Patron receives the prize for his outstanding contribution to science and the development of international co-operation, while Shirkov is honoured for his outstanding contribution to theoretical physics, in particular for the development of new methods in quantum-field theory. The prize was instituted in 1995 by the JINR Committee of Plenipotentiaries and is awarded once every three years to two scientists from different countries.